About Baltics

The Baltic States of Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania are located in the north west of Europe and border with the Gulf of Finland, Russia, Belarus, Poland and the Baltic sea. All three countries regained independence from the Soviet Union in 1991 and are members of the European Union and NATO since 2004.
Though geographical proximity leads the countries to be conventionally thought of together as a single entity, the degree of difference between them is surprisingly great in terms of ethnicity, language, historical development and religion.

The countries' rich and colorful history can be best appreciated in their capital cities, which have beautiful architecture, while the surrounding countryside features lakes, forests and wetlands, dotted with manor houses, medieval castles and splendid rococo churches. Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania are tiny and flat, there are no deserts and mountains, just lots of forests, woodlands, lakes and more than a thousand rivers and streams, and a thousand miles of mostly sandy beaches.

Each of the three Baltic countries has the language of their respective titular nationality as an official language. Russian is spoken by the majority of the population in all three countries, and English is increasingly spoken as well, especially by the younger generations.



Capital: Tallin

Official language: Estonian

Population: 1,317,797

Tourism highlights: Laheema National Park, Tartu, Saaremaa



Capital: Riga

Official language: Latvian

Population: 2.013 million

Tourism highlights: Gauja National Park, Cape Kolka, Cēsis, Kuldīga waterfalls (Ventas Rumba)



Capital: Vilnius

Official language: Lithuanian

Population: 2.956 million

Tourism highlights: Curonian Spit National Park, Nemunas Delta, Žemaitija National Park



top UP
Vidzemes Augstskola © 2006-2017